top of page
Search

Confidence in the midst of "Chaos"



Am I the only one that gets frustrated when things are not going my way? When I don't accept that some things may happen outside of my control that is when things seem to get chaotic for me. When I am not having the proper perspective on what is occurring around me then I will get overwhelmed. My faith can not only be based on what I know will happen, but rather having confidence that circumstances will turn in my favor.


In Psalms 18 David speaks of God as being his strength, his rock, fortress, and deliver. It says; “ I will love you, O Lord, my strength, The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliver; My God, my strength in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised; So shall I be saved from my enemies”. Pillar means any upright supporting part; post and fortress- any place of exceptional security. In my own life I can say that I needed something to hold on to in order to keep myself up because I knew there was no way that I could do it on my own. I encourage you to hold on to Jesus, the only one that is stable and consistent in every season no matter what is going on. Don’t let the chaos distract you from the one that can settle the unknown and the frustrations that try to consume you. The debris that came from the chaos will be swept away by he who can speak peace to any storm.


When the disciples were traveling with Jesus after he had performed miracles and taught on the cost of discipleship they got into a boat (Matthew 8:23). While on the way there was a storm one that did not make Jesus uncomfortable, anxious, or fearful. The disciples saw the waves all around them accompanied by strong winds and rain. They did not understand how He could sleep through this event. They woke Him up, asked to save them, and if he even noticed that they were perishing. I can only image the experience on this boat in the middle of the sea. They were probably drenched in the rain, could barely see, water attempting to over take the boat, and yet Jesus slept unbothered. God sees your storms of life and chaos as an opportunity to show you that He is in the midst and that there is peace. Chaos is the opposite peace. When you are in a state of confusion and disorder that is signal for you to invite God into the situation. God is not the author of confusion , but rather one to give clarity, insight, and wisdom. Your faith in the chaos should be stronger than what you are seeing. If your surroundings and circumstances are over powering your faith, then you need to make an adjustment and remember that God is your fortress in the midst of trouble.


Allow God to make sense out of the things you don't understand. Don’t drive yourself crazy trying to make sense out of the situation that God may or may not want you to know. I am learning that there may be things that I won't have an answer to and I will have to be okay with that. Let God be your safe place when you don't know where else to go. Remember that His presence is all around you and the chaos does not have to take precedence in your life. You have a couple choices to choose from. You can either allow it to overwhelm you or to remember that you have God that is there and in the midst to hold on to.


God reminded me that I am victorious!! For a few days I was thinking of all the things that seemed stacked against me. I will tell myself “This is not fair!!” or “how can this happen to me!?". When you get caught up asking the wrong questions this can take your focus of what God really wants you to see or the comfort that He is attempting to provide. Your storm will make you to believe that God is not in control and this can lead to worry and anxiety. God is always in control and because of this, you can make Him your safe place.



1 view0 comments
bottom of page